Godless Living

Living a fulfilled life without God

Dan Savage Shows That It “Gets Better” By Growing Up and Picking on High School Students

I don’t mean to be too negative here, but if I didn’t have an opinion I wouldn’t be a blogger.  It sort of goes with the territory.  It was only a couple of hours ago that I said I didn’t have a strong opinion on the video below where Dan Savage addresses a group of high school students, but as I see more people post this that cheer him on, I’m getting annoyed.  I really do agree with his message.  I didn’t even necessarily disagree with the venue.  I was perfectly happy and enjoying the talk until he said, “It’s funny, as someone who’s on the receiving end of beatings that are justified by the bible, how pansy-assed some people react when you push back.”

To put this into perspective, this guy is known as a spokesperson against bullying.  I can’t ignore the irony of this guy calling a group of high school students pansies.  Let’s remember that we’re talking about high school students who may have never had the energy or felt like they could question their faith.  I think people really need to consider their beliefs strongly, but we have to remember the level of indoctrination that some people grow up in.  It took me over 30 years to finally get to a place where I felt safe enough to question my faith.  I don’t think the students should have been offended, but we just can’t be surprised that they were.  If they felt they needed to walk out, I think that’s perfectly fine.  I don’t fault Savage for saying things that offended them… I fault him for calling them pansies for walking out.

I know not all of my readers will agree with me, I invite you to disagree with me without writing me off.  I think I’m just overly sensitive to trying to avoid giving people ammunition to call atheists or freethinkers assholes.  We have to understand that when we talk about these things we’re going to offend people.  That doesn’t mean to stop talking about them, but we should be able to do this without name calling… especially to a group of high school students.

3 comments on “Dan Savage Shows That It “Gets Better” By Growing Up and Picking on High School Students

  1. M. A. Melby
    April 30, 2012

    I certainly see your point. He should not have gone “there” with the term “pansy-assed” in retrospect I am sure. I can understand the frustration though – that many people are literally forced by law to endure incredible amounts of socially acceptable forms of psychological abuse – and the moment it is turned back on them (just a little bit) they can’t handle it.

    However, the whole fight-fire with fire thing can lead to ruin – be completely counterproductive. The choice of words was regrettable for sure, especially in that venue.

  2. Hoffmeyer Lippert
    April 30, 2012

    Honestly I don’t think it was that offensive at all – when you read and hear what many believers throw at atheists then it is obvious that what Dan said almost sounds like friendly chit-chat. Statements like “Atheists should die” and “Shoot them all” is all over the place and you and I see it on Facebook everyday.

  3. danielwalldammit
    May 16, 2012

    I think he definitely screwed up. We could quibble about the point where he did that, but I do think he screwed up.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
