Godless Living

Living a fulfilled life without God

An Inspirational Message from Adam Savage


I found this video of Adam Savage at the Reason Rally to be particularly inspiring.  I think atheism is often pinned as lacking in inspiration.  It does quite the opposite for me.  My life has been opened to so much more wonder, awe, and mystery since leaving my faith.  It seems that reality is sufficient enough for inspiration.

“…to me, the offer of certainty; the offer of complete security; the offer of an impermeable faith that can’t give way is an offer of something not worth having. I want to live my life taking the risk, all the time, that I don’t know anything like enough, yet; that I haven’t done this good enough; that I can’t know enough; that I’m always hungrily operating on the margins of a potentially great harvest of future knowlege and wisdom. I wouldn’t have it any other way. And I’d urge you to look at those who tell you at your age that you’re dead til you believe as they do, and that you can only live by accepting an absolute authority. Don’t think of that as a gift. Think of it as a poison chalice, push it aside, however tempting it is, take the risk of thinking for yourself. Much more happiness, truth, beauty, and wisdom will come to you that way.” Christopher Hitchens

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
