Godless Living

Living a fulfilled life without God

Welcome To The New Blog!

Who am I?

This is a loaded question.  As it relates to this blog, I’m an atheist, a humanist, a secularist, a freethinker, and whatever non-theistic label you would like to use.  I’m a little bit of all of those things but I’m also just a regular guy, husband, dad, etc.

Why am I writing a blog?

Writing is something I’ve always enjoyed.  It’s never been anything I’ve done professionally, but even as a middle school kid I was writing letters to the editor of the Beaumont enterprise expressing my opinions.  It’s just a part of who I am.  This blog, in particular, is a reflection of how my life has changed since leaving my faith early in 2011. I was formerly a devout Christian for many years working in various forms of volunteer ministry, studying in bible school, and regularly seeking after God.  When I left all of that the way I saw the world changed and continues to do so.  I’ve been writing about it in a very emotional blog of my departure from faith.  It was a rough year, but led me to a place that I’m much happier with.  I’m moving on from that blog about my deconversion (if you’re interested in the location of that blog email me at godlessliving@gmail.com) because it was so emotional and not something I was comfortable sharing publicly towards the end.  There were a ton of people reading it (over 14,000 views), but they were mostly people I didn’t know.  I’m writing this blog for several reasons, but here are a few:

  • To do my part to remove the stigma from labels like atheist, agnostic, humanists, secularists, etc.  I want to stand up with and for the small minority of people (at least where I live) who find themselves in the community of non-theistic philosophy.
  • To help people understand the difference between things they know and things they believe.  I want to continue to challenge people to be cautious about certainty and to encourage people to approach things (including their religion) with skeptical inquiry.
  • To promote a secular society free of superstition and religious influence in government affairs.
  • To promote a society where people can coexist with one another despite differences of opinion or thought and for the opportunity to discuss things openly without taking offense.
  • To promote secular morals and ethics free of superstitions or religious influence.

Why The Name “Godless Living”?

This is intentional.  When most people think of godlessness or atheism, they imagine people who are evil, reckless, drunkards, etc.  I’d like to show that “godless living” can be a very normal and fulfilling way of life.  I don’t expect everyone to adopt my philosophy, but my hope is that through removing the stigma of non-belief we can better understand one another.

Welcome to the blog!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2012 by in Agnosticism, Atheism, Freethought, Humanism, Secularism.

Navigation

